You are:

Evelyn Carpenter

Councillor for Becontree Ward, London Borough of Barking and Dagenham
Cabinet member for Education and Schools 

Evelyn Carpenter has lived in Barking and Dagenham for about 30 years.  She was first elected a Labour councillor for Becontree Ward in May 2006 and re-elected in 2010 and 2014.  

She takes a wide interest in strategic issues across the Council and its partnership, and has contributed to policy developments in cohesion and equalities, housing, health, and children’s services.  With her ward councillors, Evelyn has worked hard to get to know Becontree constituents:  there are regular email newsletters; and knocking on doors has been a useful way to identify people’s concerns about Council services.

In 2014, Evelyn joined Cllr Darren Rodwell’s Cabinet as portfolio holder for Education and Schools.  She chairs the Technical Skills Academy Board and is chair of the Governing Body of the Adult College of Barking and Dagenham.

Before becoming a Councillor, Evelyn was self-employed working as a community education consultant in the cultural sector.  Her specialisms were evaluation and audience development – helping arts organisations and museums to become more inclusive and reach out to diverse communities.

Evelyn has been a senior education officer in three London Boroughs and with Manchester City Council: her responsibilities included further education and training.  She began her career organising adult education services in Nottingham, Hackney and Cheshire where she found new ways to enable, for example, women living in isolated high-rise flats and estates, and disabled people, benefit from lifelong learning.

She studied philosophy at Nottingham University and Girton College, Cambridge and, was awarded an MA in Museum and Gallery Management by the City University.

Evelyn enjoys mooching around art galleries and museums, pottering about in the garden, and tries to keep fit through water aerobics and occasional walks in her local park.  

Use this link to view our full list of Governors.