You are:

The Symons-Hatton Award

Commitment & Passion: Awarded annually for student excellence in lens-based subjects

The Symons-Hatton Award

These annual Awards were founded in memory of Brian Hatton and Lucinda Symons, both passionate and talented photographers. The Symons-Hatton Awards recognise the personal achievement of students studying lens-based subjects (such as photography and film production/creative media production) at Barking & Dagenham College.

The Awards go to students who have demonstrated outstanding commitment and passion for their subject and studies, to support them as they take their first steps in the industry.

The Awards are presented at the College’s annual Higher Education Graduation Ceremony which takes place each November.

Symons-Hatton Award roll of honour

2018 Award Nominations
Tamas Sarkany - Photography
Igors Tarasenko - Photography
Vanessa Morrisson - Creative Media Production
Indre Neiberkaite - Photography
Nathan Rose - Animation

First prize: Chris Thorne, Creative Media Production
First prize: Michael Scott, Photography
Commended: Indre Neiberkaite, Photography
Commended: Gary Dudman, Creative Media Production

First prize: William Jimenez Bustos, Photography
Highly commended: Gary Dudman, Creative Media Production
Highly commended: Daura Alytiene, Photography
Special Recognition Award: Gessami Dato Mazo, Animation

First prize: Sharmaarke Adan, Photography
Highly commended: Pavel Burmistrov, Creative Media Production
Commended:  Luke Creasy, Photography
Commended: Louise Levitt, Creative Media Production
Special Recognition Award: Catherine McGurk, Animation

First prize: Naghi Yousef, Photography
Highly commended:  Sophie Willison, Photography
Commended: Jamie Elliott, Media
Commended: Fatbardha Krasniqi, Commended

First prize: Lewis Inman, Photography
Highly Commended: Daniele Pintore, Photography
Commended:  George Woodley, Media
Commended: Ben Prayal, Media 

First prize: Annalisa Falcone, Photography
Highly Commended: Pedro Paz Lopez, Photography
Commended: Ineta Muzikeviciute, Media
Commended: Terry Clifford, Media 

First prize: Nadine Attzs, Photography
Highly Commended: Joao Vasconcelos, Media 
Commended: Leah Simpson, Media 
Commended: Kischan Panchal, Photography 

Your Media & Photography options